Tuesday, March 2, 2010

More is better... right or wrong?

Last night was the first official "High Intensity Strength Workout" Boy was it ever! 30 reps on the leg press, then hop to it and do lunges around the room. Onto arms 2 machines then hurry up and do reverse pushups for the count of 10. Onto the nasty dip machine that everyone knows I absolutely hate. Plus more fun on a few other machines. Gotta love it when Ryan tells us we will be sore tomorrow. That was an understatement! It definitely was an " intense" workout. Why did I sign up for this? Twice a week instead of once a week. More is going to be better as far as strength training goes.
Now for WRONG! I was thinking cut 500 calories so I only eat 1500 was the wrong decision. That huge of a deficit will make my body think its starving. You know what that means. My body will hang onto fat. So now I'm going to do 1700-1800. Another thing they recommend is to "Front Load Calories" the theory is eat more for breakfast and lunch plus two snacks then at dinner you won't gorge or munch until bedtime. Not sure about that idea, I would spend a lot of time thinking about when I can eat again. My biggest failing...eating when bored. Which is pretty much all day at work. I think I will stick to every 2 - 21/2 hours eating small snacks and keep my meals small. At least for this week.
Just a note... the they and trainers and where I workout is Discover Strength in Plymouth.
If any one has ideas and information they would like to share? This is a journey to learn.

2 comments:

  1. Leann, thanks for sharing. This is absolutely fascinating. You inspire me!!!

    ReplyDelete
  2. OK, what's on the docket today? I did 30 minutes of kettlebells and then a 30 minute jog around the indoor track at the St. Louis Park LTF. I'm exhausted. Trying to eat better, more fruits and veggies. Love when I'm eating it, but don't especially like to prepare it. I bought a 5 pound bag of baby carrots from Costco along with a tub of hummus. I better get snacking!

    ReplyDelete